The 5 Reasons You Have Nothing to Wear!

How often do you walk into your closet and exclaim “I have nothing to wear”?  My guess is that it probably happens every day, even though there is a closet full of clothing staring back at you.  If this sounds familiar, I can help.  Let’s dissect some of the reasons you may be suffering from “I have nothing to wear” syndrome.  

  1. You have no idea what is even in your closet!   Some of you may know my backstory, but in case you don’t, let me fill you in – I began my career as a fashion consultant, but quickly realized that I couldn’t help people with their wardrobes if I couldn’t see what they had to work with!!  THAT is where my career as a professional organizer began.  I had to organize each clients’ closet before I could help her with her personal style.  The same goes for you!  If you can’t see what’s in your closet, of course you think you have nothing to wear!  My advice = Take the time to get organized!  
  2. You haven’t figured out your personal style.  Personal style is a curious, fun, challenging, and important part of enjoying your wardrobe!  I definitely recommend that you take the time to figure out your own personal style, so here are a few questions to get your started.  What is your lifestyle?  What do you do for a living?  What do you do for fun?  If you could have all of the items from one celebrity’s closet, whose would it be?  What are your best and worst colors?  What was the last outfit that garnered a compliment from someone?  Did you feel like a million bucks in it?   
  3. Your current wardrobe is out of sync with your personal style.  It is not uncommon to want or need to change your personal style every few years, so if you’ve found that you truly have nothing to wear, this may be the reason.  Take the time to redefine your personal style and get rid of anything that doesn’t jive with it.  
  4. You don’t have the right pieces.    In other words, you are lacking a few key staples of every good wardrobe.  Staples include, but are not limited to, the following – Skinny jeans, boot-cut jeans in a dark wash, camisoles in white, ivory, and black, a few trendy tunics/tops, a neutral-colored cardigan and one in a pop of color, black pants in a flattering fit, a little black dress and a fun, flirty dress, peep-toe pumps in a neutral color and a pop of color, knee-high boots in black and brown, fun accessories that will dress and outfit up or down, an every day purse, a cross-body bag, and an evening clutch.  Wardrobe essentials have a lot to do with your lifestyle and preferences, so keep that in mind when adding to your wardrobe.  
  5. You are an impulse shopper.   Impulse shoppers typically purchase items without having any idea when, how, or where she will wear the item(s).  That is a huge no, no!  You should always shop with an agenda and a list!  You will save so much time, space, stress, and money in the long run!  I promise…I had to learn this the hard way.  I LOVE to shop!!  🙂

So, be honest, which of these five reasons speak to you?

Thank you so much for reading!!

Erin Sharplin Love

Leave a Reply

