The Top 5 Excuses for Clutter

The Top 5 Excuses for Clutter

As a professional organizer, I tend to hear the same excuses over and over.  Today I am going to share those excuses with you to see if any of them sound familiar to you.  If they do, maybe my advice will inspire you to push past the excuses so you can enjoy a clutter-free and stress-free life.

Excuse #1 – I might need it one day. 

Really?  Why haven’t you needed it up until now?  Exactly how long have you been using this excuse?  If it is over 2 years, then please consider getting rid of the item.  The chances of you using something after not using it in over 2 years is slim to none.

Excuse #2- I don’t want to hurt the person’s feelings that bought it for me.

I suffer from this excuse, too, but in the end I always think like the professional organizer I am and let the item go if it serves me no purpose.  Why hang on to something that you aren’t using or that you don’t love?  If you don’t want to throw the item away, donate it!  That way it will get used, and loved, by someone else.

Excuse #3 – It was free!!

In my opinion, the fact that it was free should make it easier to toss!  You aren’t wasting money, after all!  Just because something was free doesn’t mean that you should keep it or that it is useful.

Excuse #4 – It was expensive and might be worth something one day. 

Unfortunately, the reality is that you rarely, if ever, get back what you originally paid for an item.  I know that’s hard to hear, but it’s the truth.  However, that doesn’t mean that you can’t get something out of the items.  Try consignment stores!

Excuse #5 – It has too many memories for me. 

This is one of the most frequent excuse I hear and I always recommend taking a picture of the item.  A picture takes up way less space than the original item would and you still get to hold on to the memory.

Which excuse do you find yourself using?

Love,

Erin

Leave a Reply

