Your Pet – A Few Points for Dinner Time

A Few Points for Dinner Time with Your Dog or Cat

I consider myself fortunate to have grown up around animals and to have been taught that they are breathing, feeling creatures that deserve to be loved and cared for the way any other living creature does.  So much so, that we created a non-profit organization to help animals in our area.

With that said, I have gained a little knowledge along the way about pets and I always like to share what I know and what I’ve learned.  Today, I wanted to give you a few tips on the best way to feed your cat or dog.

1.  Teach them that patience is a virtue.  I must admit, I have one cat, Freddy Krueger  (he lives up to the name!), that will NOT wait for me to put his food in the bowl no matter how hard I try, but I have had great luck teaching the virtue of patience to my other kitties and 2 Chihuahuas.  They all wait patiently, albeit, not too quietly sometimes, for me to set their bowl in its proper place before they begin eating.  Not only does their patience make it easier for me, it also makes it easier and less stressful for the other pets, too.

2.  Remember to wash the bowls after every meal.  A licked bowl isn’t a clean bowl!  There will inevitably be some leftover food in the bottom of the bowl, however miniscule, and that food will rot and spoil and will definitely leave behind germs and bacteria that will feed and grow.  So, wash your each bowl between uses to ensure your pet doesn’t get sick.

3.  Always serve a bowl of water with the food.  Especially if it is crunchy food.  Just as you and I occasionally choke on a bit of hard or crunchy food, you pet will too.    The water will help them wash it down.

4.  Keep portion sizes in mind.  Read the feeding instructions on the bag and make sure you measure each serving correctly.  Just overfeeding your dog by 10% a month can lead to an extra pound or two of weight each month.  Obesity is already a problem with a lot of pets, so let’s keep yours happy and healthy.

5.  Feed your pet at least twice a day.  I couldn’t imagine having my entire daily portion of food in one meal!  Ack!  First of all, I’d be starving by the end of the day and therefore ravenous at the next feeding and we all know how it feels to be hungry – irritability, lethargy, etc.  The same concept applies to your pets.

I thought I’d leave you with a pic of the infamous Freddy Krueger! I rescued him from a busy highway when he was a itty bitty baby and bottle fed him. Now he likes my husband better than he likes me. Go figure.

I’d love to hear about your pets!!  Please leave it in the comments!

Love,

Erin

4 thoughts on “Your Pet – A Few Points for Dinner Time

  1. Great tips! My dog actually has access to food all the time, he is not a big eater so I just want to make sure that if he feels like eating there is food in the bowl 🙂 But true about the cleaning! Also the water bowl. When you think about how they drink, there is a lot of spit that gets into there as well as smut from their beards.

Leave a Reply

