Six Ways to Help Your Community Toward No Kill

Six Ways to Help Your Community Toward No Kill

To all of you new subscribers and those of you who don’t know me very well…yet, I am a completely avid animal lover!  Right down to being vegetarian and having a local non-profit that helps save countless animals from euthanasia, so I make it a priority to include articles about pets in my blog.  I hope a few of you out there are animal lovers, too.

I’m sure your community, just as mine, has an unbelievable amount of animals that are euthanized on a daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly basis.  The numbers in my area are so inflated that it’s hard for me to sleep at night sometimes.  😦  But I am doing whatever I can to help remedy that and maybe…one day…I’ll have the pleasure of living in a no-kill community.  Until that day, though, EVERY community with a pet overpopulation  problem needs our help.  This is what you can do:

  1. Spay and neuter your pets!
  2. Adopt a pet from your local high-kill shelter instead of buying one!
  3. Foster a needy pet!  Open your heart and your home and save a life.
  4. Help raise awareness by finding out the facts about how many animals are euthanized each year at your local shelter.  TELL EVERYONE you come in contact with. 
  5. Support your local pet non-profits.
  6. Volunteer at your local shelter!  Make life better for that one animal for at least a day by taking it for a walk, giving it hugs and kisses, etc.  It will thank you, I promise.

Do you have any other ideas of how we can help our communities become no-kill?  I would love to hear them!

Love,

Erin

3 thoughts on “Six Ways to Help Your Community Toward No Kill

  1. Erin, this is such an important issue, and I have to thank you for raising it! As a fellow animal lover, high-kill shelters absolutely break my heart. In Chicago, we have an incredible non-profit organization/animal shelter called PAWS that is working towards making Chicago a “no-kill” city. Since opening up shop here in the ’90s, I believe they have halved the amount of cats and dogs that must be euthanized each year. Slowly, they are making this must-needed change!

    I encourage everyone to donate to local animal shelters over the bigger non-profits such as the Humane Society and the World Wildlife Federation. While those organizations are doing amazing work, there’s a local shelter around the block that desperately needs dog food, volunteers, and money.

Leave a Reply

