Staying on Track

I don’t know about you, but my day often gets WAY off track the moment I turn my computer on.  For some reason, it’s way more fun to surf Pinterest, check out Facebook, and/or check my email rather than get what needs to be done, done!  Can you relate?  If so, check out how I make myself stay on track.

Staying on Track!

1.  Make a “to-do” list of the items that you definitely need to get done.  I have an ongoing list, but I scan mine every night and every morning to figure out what I need to make sure I do first, second, and so on.

2.  Stay away from social media until you are finished with your list.  Or, I like to reward myself with about ten minutes of Pinterest from time to time throughout the day.  If you choose to do this, though, remember it is easy to let time get away from you so set a timer!!  🙂 

3.  Save email until your most appropriate time.  But, here again, email can be a time-sucker so, only answer the most important messages first, then go back to peruse the coupons or funny emails later. 

I know how easy it is to get sidetracked, but if you set your mind to it you will get WAY more done that you thought possible.  Then your reward it Pinterest and Facebook or whatever your weakness is! 

Do you have any suggestions on how to stay on track?  Please share!

Love,

Erin

4 thoughts on “Staying on Track

  1. I had the amazing opportunity to hear Robin Sharma at a recent leadership training. He has written several books including The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari and The Leader Who Had No Title (highly recommend!). He gave us several points to increase productivity. The best was to spend the first 90 minutes of your work day doing only work that makes you money–no music in the background, no mail, no e-mail, no filing, etc.

  2. Great tips! It’s so true that there are countless things competing for our time and attention every day. Unless we take action to keep ourselves focused its all too easy to get lost in social media or checking up on celebrity gossip. My reward, is the sooner I get my work tasks done, I can go out and do something fun with my day – far more meaningful than 10 minutes of Facebook here and there.

Leave a Reply

