The Cure for Procrastination

The Cure for Procrastination

Everyone, including me, procrastinates!  There is always something on your “to do” list that isn’t the most fun or you just don’t feel like doing, but the longer you procrastinate, the longer it takes that item to get checked off your list.  As Nike states – “Just do it!”  I know, it’s not that easy, so I want to give you a few tips on how to help yourself over the procrastination hurdle.

1.  Surround yourself with “doers”!  If you see others getting things done, you will be more likely to want to do the same.

2.  Set up a reward system.  Treat yourself to an extra glass of wine, or a handful of jelly beans when you successfully complete a task without procrastinating.

3.  Find an accountability partner.  Team up with a friend and hold each other accountable.  It’s much harder to disappoint someone other than ourselves.

4.  Save social media and email for last.  Use social media as a way to reward yourself for getting your tasks done.  This is the number one way I get things done, myself.  Social media and email are time-suckers!!!  It’s so easy to waste hours, but it only feels like minutes.

Above all, keep your “To Do” list updated daily and extremely handy!  Once you stop procrastinating and start doing, you’ll have more free time for the things you love.

🙂

Love,

Erin

 

2 thoughts on “The Cure for Procrastination

  1. Non-caloric rewards! Mani, pedi, facial, nap! I saw that amazing Robin Sharma this weekend. He’s written 12 books, including Leader without a Title. He had a great productivity tip–spend the first 90 minutes of your work day away from phone, e-mail, etc, doing focus work that actually makes you money (or if we’re not talking about work, the things that actually move you forward to your goals. I’m going to try it when I get home.

    1. Hmmm…I guess you see why I needed your snacks! LOL! I reward myself in JUNK! 🙂

      What a great idea! I’m going to have to get that book! Thanks for sharing and commenting.

Leave a Reply

