The Panache Vegetarian Cooks at Home

There are reasons I don’t like to cook – It takes too long.  It makes too big of a mess.  I don’t like to chop veggies.  Etc. Etc.  But I am trying to make myself try cooking something from “scratch” (not out of a box or really simple, like a bean burger) at least once a week.  I guess I can call it one of my New Year Resolutions.  Sigh.

Tonight I cooked a Vegetarian Beef and Cheese Macaroni and Olive Cheese Bread.  It turned out really well!  My husband, who LOVES any meat he can get his hands on, liked it too.  Thankfully, he helped me do the chopping, so cooking didn’t suck TOO bad.  🙂

Vegetarian Hamburger and Cheese Macaroni 

1/2 onion (diced)

1 bag of Morningstar Farms griller crumbles

1 bag of macaroni noodles (elbow noodles)

1 large can of diced tomatoes

1 tbsp canola oil

Salt and pepper to taste

I also added a little paprika, red pepper, Lawry’s seasoning salt, garlic powder, and chili powder

1 cup each of cheddar and mozzarella cheese

Saute your onions in the canola oil for a few minutes.  Then add your veggie crumbles and let them thaw out and mix with your onions.  Add desired seasonings.  Meanwhile, begin boiling your water to cook the macaroni and preheat your oven to 400.  After the crumbles have thawed and are warmed with the onions, add diced tomatoes and let the mixture simmer until the macaroni is ready.  Drain macaroni and mix with the veggie crumble mixture.  Transfer to a baking dish, cover with cheese, and bake for approximately 20 minutes.

Olive Cheese Bread

1/2 of a loaf of french bread

10 large green olives with pimento

20 black olives

1/4 cup mayo

1/2 stick of butter (I used Smart Balance sticks)

1/2 cup cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 400.  Slice french bread in half and place on baking sheet.  Mix mayo, softened butter, cheese, and olives.  Spread onto bread and bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and the bread begins to brown.

Hell has frozen over….I actually cooked.

I was actually planning on doing a bit of cardio after dinner, but decided I needed a glass of wine instead.

Love,

Erin

2 thoughts on “The Panache Vegetarian Cooks at Home

Leave a Reply

