Design It Yourself

Did you know that you can find a website to personalize just about anything these days?  I knew all about the monogramming sites and I have designed by own jeans in the past, but it didn’t really cross my mind that I could create my own shoes, purse, makeup, pillows, bedding, jewelry, and even energy bars and tea!  Gah! 

As you can imagine, that got me to wondering exactly how much it would cost to design my…everything!  LOL!  Check out what I suggest is worth it and what’s not below!

 

 

 

 

 

Elemental Threads (www.elementalthreads.com) – I actually DID design my own purse from this company and I can’t wait to get it!  Stay tuned to see what it looks like!  Anyway, this site lets you choose from all the styles you see in the picture above and then you can choose from regular cottons, specialty fabrics, and organic cottons.  The price isn’t too bad.  I got a fairly large purse for about $138. 

Shoes of Prey (www.shoesofprey.com) – I am still debating on whether or not to actually purchase the shoes that I designed on this site.  There is one thing that is bothering me about this site…all of the shoes are made of real leather and I am trying not to purchase anymore real leather unless I know the whens, wheres, and whys of where exactly it came from.  (In case you are wondering I am staying away from leather, and all meats, for moral reasons.  🙂 )  The shoes on this site run anywhere from $180 to $330.   

*NOTE:  I did find another “design your own shoe” site called Milk and Honey and they had vegan and vegetarian fabric choices, but the cost was astronomical!  I created a $440 pair of shoes from a beautiful fabric, though.  😦 

Inmod (www.inmod.com) – I created a super cute pillow that was a natural fabric with a bright pink giraffe on it but it was going to cost me $70.  Boo!  I didn’t buy from this site. 

Three Custom (www.threecustom.com) – I didn’t buy anything on this website yet but I probably will.  Three Custom can create any color lipstick, eyeshadow, blush, etc. from a paint swatch or a nail polish sample!  They even have tons of discontinued colors from companies such as MAC, and can create any of the other discontinued items as long as you have a small sample.  Cool!  Their prices are very reasonable!  For example, two lipsticks will cost you $55. 

ECreamery (www.ecreamery.com) – YUM!  But way too expensive! Shipping is astronomical!  $49.99 for 1/2 gallon.  I did dream up my new ice cream which I named “A Spoonful of Love”, though!  🙂  Imagine a gelato base of white chocolate and cheesecake with a mix-in of amaretto cherries!  Mmmm…dang it!

So…are YOU going to design something tonight?  If so, please share!!

 

2 thoughts on “Design It Yourself

  1. Hi Erin, Michael from the Shoes of Prey team here, thanks so much for your lovely post!

    We’re actually working on a vegan range of shoe options at the moment, we’re just in the process of getting our materials certified as vegan from a company recommended to us by PETA. If you’d like to be one of the first people to try our vegan shoes please email us at hunter@shoesofprey.com and we can let you know as soon as they’re ready!

    Thanks Erin.

Leave a Reply

