Cleaning the Homemade Way

Cleaning the Homemade Way

I’ll be honest – I have NEVER enjoyed cleaning!  In fact, it used to be an extremely sore subject with my husband and I.  I could never understand why I had to clean the entire day every Sunday while he got to lay in the recliner and relax!  Needless to say, not too long after we got married I got a maid!  LOL! 

Even with a maid, though, there are still things that need to be clean, plus I was tired of spending so much money on cleaning supplies!  So I decided to try one of the homemade cleaning product recipes that I kept running across in magazines.  I was extremely skeptical at first, but quickly became a convert!  I will never buy All-Purpose Cleaner, Window Cleaner, or Furniture Polish again!  The homemade versions are awesome! So awesome, in fact, that they make me want to clean more!  How does that work exactly, you ask?  Well, there is something so fulfilling about cleaning with something you made yourself!  So weird, but it actually does make it more fun to clean! 

Try it yourself and let me know what you think!  Here are the recipes I used:

All-Purpose Cleaner (based on a normal sized bottle of cleaner)

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons vinegar

Fill the rest of the bottle with water

Add 5 drops of your favorite essential oil

 

Window Cleaner

4 teaspoons vinegar

Fill the rest of the bottle with water

 

Furniture Polish

Fill your bottle with water and add 20 to 30 drops of essential oil

 

That’s it!  So simple and cheap!!  Yet they work and smell divine!!  No harsh smells or harsh chemicals!  Love!

Let me know what you think!

Love,

Erin

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cleaning the Homemade Way

  1. I love making my own cleaning products. I use olive oil & vinegar as wood polish. I make my own counter cleaner (similar to your recipe), glass cleaner, and scrubby stuff for tubs and such. I’ve played with dishwasher and laundry detergent too, but haven’t found recipes I love yet 🙂

  2. I have been using a homemade laundry recipe since the middle of the summer. It has taken me 3 months to finish the 5 gallon bucket of detergent, and I have a family of six! I am sold!!! I do still buy dryer sheets because I love the fragrance. Let me know if you would like the recipe;)

Leave a Reply

