Organizing Your Collectibles

 

Organizing Your Collectibles

Ok, ok!  I admit it!  I am definitely what someone could call a frog collector.  I love anything froggie!  From notebooks, to figurines, to statues.  If it has a frog on it, I want it!  But, fortunately, I know now to “organize” my collection in such a way that it doesn’t overwhelm or overtake my home.  If you like to collect things, read below for my tips on how to make sure you stay reigned in.  🙂

1.  Focus.  Try not to be TOO much of a collector.  In other words, stick to collecting one or two things and don’t let yourself stray from the things you really love.  Frogs is the only thing I collect!

2.  Know when time is time.  You have to know when it is time to stop collecting or sell some of the collection you have. 

3.  If your collectibles are worth some money, catalog each item in a computer program so you’ll know if something happens to come up missing or you decide to sell some online.

4.  Find space to display your collectibles.  I don’t like to display all of my froggies in one place.  I prefer to have them sporadically placed around my home and office.  I feel like that’s the easiest way to maintain my collection but if you prefer them all to be in one spot, a bookcase is a good choice.  Be sure to add pictures, books, vases, and other items to the collection, too.  It will make it look much better, promise!

So…what do you collect??

Love,

Erin

3 thoughts on “Organizing Your Collectibles

  1. Um….you are misinforming your readers about your collections! LOL! yes, you DO collect anything froggie! But, you also have quite the collections of shoes, purses, clothes, jewelry, and especially bangles!

  2. I LOVE ANYTHING FROGGIE TOO! I LITERALLY TYPED IN GOOGLE – HOW TO ORGANIZE MY FROG COLLECTION AND FOUND THIS LINK 🙂 I HAVE HAD MY FROGGIE TRINKETS ON A BOOKSHELF SINCE FOREVER, AND I’M LOOKING FOR NEW WAYS TO ORGANIZE. AS WITH YOUR COLLECTION, I’M SURE, HALF OF IT COMES FROM RELATIVES/FRIENDS. I TRY TO DISPLAY THOSE SO WHEN THOSE PEOPLE COME OVER THEY KNOW I APPRECIATE THEM THINKING OF ME AND TAKING TIME AND MONEY TO PURCHASE THE ITEMS, HOWEVER I’VE ENDED UP WITH EVERYTHING FROM GLASS BREAKABLES, TO HUGE STUFFED ANIMALS! I KEEP THE STUFFED ANIMALS NEAR THE TOP SO MY DOG DOESN’T GET THEM, THE BREAKABLE STUFF NEAR THE MIDDLE IN CASE THE SHELF WERE EVER TO TIP OVER, AND RANDOM BIG ITEMS ON THE BOTTOM FOR WEIGHT/SIZE REASONS. MY COLLECTION AT WORK IS SO LARGE IT TAKES UP A WHOLE SHELF/CABINET THERE TOO! I DON’T REALLY HAVE THE OPTION OF USING THE WHOLE HOUSE AS I SHARE IT WITH 2 OTHER GIRLS, SO IT’S JUST MY ROOM AND WORK FOR THE FROGS. I MIGHT BUY A NET TO HANG THE STUFFED GUYS IN A HAMMOCK SOON, I JUST HATE THE THOUGHT OF BOXING SOME UP AND NEVER SEEING THEM AGAIN 😦

Leave a Reply

