Organize Your Recyclables

Organize Your Recyclables

Thankfully, recycling is gaining more and more popularity these days.  The bad thing is that most homes aren’t really set up to organize the onslaught of paper, aluminum, glass, and plastic.  So, you have to make room.  🙂  Check out my tips for organizing your recyclables below:

1.  Make sure to check with your local recycling centers to see what can and cannot be recycled in your area.  Keep that list posted somewhere convenient.

2.  Choose an out-of-the-way spot in your home (or outside of your home) that is appropriate for housing recycling materials for a while.  Remember, sometimes it may take a few weeks to a month to gather enough recycling material to constitute a trip to the recycling center. 

3.  Purchase the appropriate bins.  Here are my faves (from The Container Store). 

4.  Begin to pay attention to what you buy.  Switch to items that have less packaging and/or buy combo cleaning products that tackle two or more jobs at the same time. 

I am about to admit that I personally inspired my own post.  I have had a paper recycling station that has begun to pile up behind one of my couches.  I needed to find a way to contain it, so I’m taking my own advice, too.  🙂 

How do you organize your recyclables?

Love,

Erin

Leave a Reply

