The Latest and Greatest Accessory

The Latest and Greatest Accessory = Your Fingernails!!

Have you noticed an increase in the amount of attention women (of all ages) are giving to their fingernails?  I have and I must say that I am loving it!  I have ALWAYS been obsessed with my nails, so the fact that a lot of other women are jumping on the bandwagon makes me completely happy. 

I remember the days when I was a french manicure-aholic…I would never dream of replacing the bright white tip for a colored nail!  Heaven forbid!  LOL! Happily, those days are past and I have a highly rotated color wheel of nail polishes that I enjoy.  I have even been known to sport OPI’s new “black shatter”!  Love it! 

So, how can you incorporate your fingernails into your wardrobe as an accessory?  Check out my tips below:

1.  Upkeep!  Be sure to give yourself or get a manicure at least once a month.  I give myself a manicure once a week, but would never suggest you go longer than a month.  A typical manicure should include shaping, buffing, cuticle removal, moisturizer, and polishing. 

2.  Don’t be afraid to try something new!  If you don’t like it, sanity is only a swipe away!! 

3.   Try not to go overboard.  Although I LOVE long fingernails (I even used to sport them myself), the fun colors, designs, etc. that are popular right now look better on shorter nails.  I have shortened my nails to about 1/4 inch from my nail bed.

4.  You don’t have to be matchy, matchy.  But you can if you want to!  A lot of stylists and designers balk at the thought of matching your fingers and toes still, but I think it sort of ties things together a bit more.  I like to set my own rules…not abide by ALL of them!  🙂  So you will forever see me in matching fingers and toes! 

5.  Choose the right color for your skin tone.  I am going to follow-up this post with an entire post about matching color and your skin tone, but in the meantime do a little research of your own.  🙂  Stay tuned for my advice, though! 

So…what do you think?  Are you going to try out the latest and greatest accessory or has it already been a staple in your wardrobe?

One thought on “The Latest and Greatest Accessory

  1. The new crackle polish is cute. I tried it this week. Wish I had gone with black and silver instead of purple and silver. It’s not something I would wear all the time, but it’s cute enough to do with different colors. I’m totally with you on the matching fingers and toes. But you could do crackle on the toes and a matching color on your nails. 🙂

Leave a Reply

