Pet Etiquette

Pet Etiquette

I have been an animal lover for as long as I can remember. We have had pets for my entire life and now, as an adult, I have 6 cats, 1 dog, and 2 squirrels of my own. Pets, for me, are a joy and I can’t imagine how anyone could feel differently, but that’s not reality. Unfortunately, not everyone is an animal lover and that is simply their perogative and I, we, must be respectful of that. Afterall, we all are different and that’s what keeps the world going ’round. Right?

So, in that spirit, I thought I should write a few tips on being a respectful pet parent. Check them out below:

1. Always keep your pet on a leash. Not only is it safer for your pet, it also keeps your pet from invading someone else’s space. Or, if your pet is small, like Prada, carry him or her instead.
2. Teach your pet basic commands, such as sit, stay, come, and down. Even as a pet lover I prefer for large dogs not to jump up on me.
3. Never bring your pet to someone else’s house before checking to make sure it is ok.
4. When you invite guests over alert them to the fact that you have pets and check to see if anyone has allergies, etc. You may need to seclude you pet(s) to a certain area of the house while you have guests.

Overall, it is a good idea to think of how other’s may feel and remember the Golden Rule – “Do unto others as you would have theem do unto you.”

So what do you think? Have you run into any situations where pet etiquette was missing in the scenario? Or do you agree with my tip above?

8 thoughts on “Pet Etiquette

  1. Those are all great tips, and as someone who loves animals but is allergic, they are things I really appreciate. One other thing I’ll mention which is a “pet peave” of mine….is if you’re a dog owner and you invite people over, don’t let the dogs jump all over the people when they walk in the door!

  2. Erin, i can remember when we were children your family always having animals. You and your parents were always so polite when I came to visit as I used to be very scared of dogs due to being bitten when I was a small child and not to mention I had terrible allergic reactions to them! I firmly believe if you love your animals then everything you noted above is absolutely neccessary and may just turn some people from animal agnostics to animal lovers!

  3. Those are definitely great rules to follow! I always warn people about my dogs before they come to my apartment, and I ask them ahead of time if they’d prefer the dogs to be secured in another room. I also think it’s important to be flexible and allow people to change their minds about the situation. Even if our pets are incredibly well behaved some people may realize that once they are in our homes that having pets around is not comfortable with them, so I think we need to be good hostesses (or hosts) that will notice, understand, and then remedy the situation. I have found that most people that are not huge fans of pets are usually fine with having them around as long as they are warned ahead of time instead of being bombarded by an unexpected zoo when they walk in the door! lol

  4. I am with you about being a pet lover and also feel it’s very important to have etiquette when you take your pet out into public.
    I can’t imagine my life without Chloe. She is my baby!!!

  5. I agree it’s always important to get permission to bring a pet on a visit, even with fellow pet owners. Visits from other animals can be so stressful on pets, so it’s good to always make sure that an animal get-together is fine.
    🙂
    leslie

Leave a Reply

