Modern Manners Monday – Take the quiz and win a prize!!

This is my first giveaway blog!!  I hope I get some comments!  🙂 

Ok, all you have to do is answer the following questions correctly and you’ll be entered to win a free subscription to Panache Magazine and you will be featured (in some form or fashion) in the magazine for free, too!!  Free publicity!! Who could ask for more?  🙂 

Do you have good manners?

1.  When someone sneezes what do you do?

2.  While driving to work someone cuts you off.  What do you do next?

3.  When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do?

4.  You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up.  You…

5.  Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard.  What should you do?

6.  How much should you tip your server at a restaurant?

7.  For whom should you open doors?

8.  How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note?

Good luck!  All you have to do is answer the questions above in the comment section of this blog and you will automatically be entered to win!!

Yay!!!! 

Oh and if you don’t know what Panache Magazine is please go to www.panachebyerin.com and click the magazine icon.  🙂

20 thoughts on “Modern Manners Monday – Take the quiz and win a prize!!

  1. 1. When someone sneezes what do you do? Bless them or say “gesundheit” which is German for “Good health”.

    2. While driving to work someone cuts you off. What do you do next? Ok, MY answer would ordinarily be incorrect here…but, I think what you are looking for is: Apply the brake to slow down so that you do not hit them. You kindly go about your business as a safe driver 😉

    3. When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do? Silence it, or if it’s important, excuse yourself, if possible, and take the call in private.

    4. You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up. You…let the two in front of you proceed to the open lane as they were in line first. (This happens SOOOOO rarely these days)

    5. Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard. What should you do? Clean up after your pet. No one should be inconvenienced b/c you are lazy and can’t pick up after your dog.

    6. How much should you tip your server at a restaurant? I think traditionally the tip is 15-20% of the total bill before tax is applied. If my server is “good”, I generally tip closer to 20%

    7. For whom should you open doors? Your elders, pregnant women, those who are injured, sick or handicap, those who are coming in behind you, or coming out at the same time. This is what I do, generally. Don’t know the correct answer.

    8. How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note? I would think as soon as you can write it but definitely within a month?

  2. 1. Say God bless you
    2. Slow down to not hit them and use self control to not be angry
    3. Silence it. I guess if you were expecting an “important” call like from the President, you can excuse yourself.
    4. Let the 2 in front of you go first
    5. Clean up after your pet
    6. 15-20%
    7. anyone coming behind you or at the door with you. Plus ladies, elderly, handicapped, etc
    8. As soon as possible. When you get married, don’t you have a year? That seems long.

  3. 1. When someone sneezes what do you do?
    Offer a tissue.
    2. While driving to work someone cuts you off. What do you do next?
    You let it go..you continue driving safely and not put yourself in danger of road rage.

    3. When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do? You should hit the key to silent the ringing call so not to disturb others.

    4. You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up. You… should stay in line and let others go to the new lane.

    5. Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard. What should you do?
    You should always pick it up and train your dog not to go into your neighbors yard

    6. How much should you tip your server at a restaurant? should be at least 15%, and if the service is excellent, it can be as much as 20%. If you happen to have bad service, you should pay a minimum of 10%.

    7. For whom should you open doors? You always open doors for anyone regardless of gender who is in the near vicinity of the door

    8. How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note? You should send them out as quickly as possible, preferable as soon as you get the gift. As for wedding gifts, you should sent a thank you note within 3 months of receiving gifts. gift.

  4. 1. When someone sneezes, I say “Bless you!”
    2. When someone cuts me off in traffic, I think “one way” but, I let them go on. Better to let them go than cause an accident or raise my blood pressure. Just isn’t worth either.
    3. When my phone rings in a public place, I hit the “hang up button” and call the person back when I’m out of the public place and apologize for having to do that. I’ve heard people talking on their phones in bathroom stalls….just “ain’t right!”
    4. If I’m number three in line and another line opens up, I’ll ease over to that newly opened line. IF they two people in front of me have just a few items, I’ll just stay put. I’m never in that big of a hurry!
    5. Hmmmm, this is a tough one. I don’t have a dog right now but…if these neighbors were “close quarters” I’d go over and use me a pooper scooper and get it out of their yard and try to keep my doggie in HIS yard next time. Although, I’ve had plenty of doggie poop in my yard and their “parents” didn’t seem to care….just more fertilize to them, I guess!
    6. I always tip at least 15% and if the waiter/waitress is extra good, I’ll go 20% I try to always think that that person is somebody’s son or daughter and what if they were mine? AND you will NEVER EVER see me be rude to one either. Just rude and crude to be “ugly” to a waiter or waitress. They’re working hard to just make a living and make my meal nice.
    7. I open doors for anybody and everybody. Just a nice thing to do especially if they are coming towards the door you are coming out. Makes me happy to do that good deed.
    8. Thank you notes…..within a week but not more than two weeks.

  5. 1. When someone sneezes what do you do?
    If you are in close proximity the one who sneezed will think you rude if you don’t say something:) You could ask if they are okay and perhaps offer a tissue. I do not say anything like “God Bless you.” Even a simple, “May I get you anything?” is a polite response.

    2. While driving to work someone cuts you off. What do you do next?

    Take a deep breath and continue to drive defensively and courteously; what’s the big deal? It’s not really that big of a deal; sometimes we get a little prideful:)

    3. When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do?

    You should probably glance at the ID to make sure it’s not an important/potential emergency call. Silence it until you are alone or if it is important, apologize for the interruption (if you’re at a counter or in a restaurant for instance) excuse yourself and take the call in private.

    4. You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up. You…

    Advise the other two that the new line has opened and allow them to transfer lines so that they might check out first and in order.

    5. Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard. What should you do?

    You should clean up the mess immediately.

    6. How much should you tip your server at a restaurant?

    Your server’s tip should start at a minimum of 15% of the bill. You may choose to tip up to 20% if there was excellent service.

    7. For whom should you open doors?

    You should open the doors for anyone approaching as you do, an elderly person, a mother with children and children or those with disabilities. Basically, if the opportunity affords itself you should open the door as a common courtesy.

    8. How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note?

    I like to send my ‘thank you’ notes as soon as possible. At the latest this should be done within thirty days. In the case of a wedding thank you, 6 months is the maximum time expected for receipt of thank you notes.

  6. 1. Say bless you.
    2. Slow down and ignore them.
    3. Silence your phone as quickly as possible.
    4. Invite those in front of you to move to new line.
    5. Scoop the poop!
    6. 15-20%
    7. A woman or someone older than you.
    8. 48 hours max.

    1. Hmmm…just wanted to say that if you need to write “Thank You’s” for wedding gifts, there is no way you can within 48 hours if the couple are on their honeymoon!!

  7. 1. When someone sneezes what do you do? say “Bless you!”

    2. While driving to work someone cuts you off. What do you do next? I just keep singing and car dancing- no reason to get upset.

    3. When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do? I shut it off quickly or go outside to answer.

    4. You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up. You…will go in that direction if it’s open, but will let others go if they are rushing there too.

    5. Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard. What should you do? Pick it up!

    6. How much should you tip your server at a restaurant? 20%

    7. For whom should you open doors? Everyone.

    8. How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note? less than 2 weeks.

    Yay for manners!

  8. 1. When someone sneezes what do you do? I say “God Bless You!”

    2. While driving to work someone cuts you off. What do you do next? Stay clear of them as they’re obviously in a hurry.

    3. When you are in a public place and you phone rings what should you do? I ignore it.

    4. You are behind two people in the line at the grocery store when another lane opens up. You…let the two people ahead of me know and give them the option to go ahead of me.

    5. Your dog does its business in your neighbor’s yard. What should you do? Pick it up — EVERY time!

    6. How much should you tip your server at a restaurant? I tip 20%

    7. For whom should you open doors? I open for pretty much everyone.

    8. How much time should lapse before you send a thank you note? I usually send within a day or two.

  9. 1. I say “bless you”…even to the dogs 😛

    2. I break to avoid hitting them and depending on how badly they cut me off…like putting my child that is in the car with me at risk, I honk too. There’s a reason they put horns in the car. I’m sure that’s not the right answer. :P…so just take my first part of the answer 🙂

    3. I turn the ringer off first to not disturb people.

    4. I always ask if they would like to go first.

    5. Put your dog back in your own yard? 😛 Then, clean it up.

    6. We always do 20% if they did their job well.

    7. I open the door for everyone.

    8. I would have to write it the same or next day in order to not forget. My mom always told us we couldn’t play with our gifts until a thank you note was written first. 😉

  10. 1. Say God bless you
    2. Slow down let them go on and pray for them to get where they are going safely! 🙂
    3. Silence it quickly. Leave the room if you must take the call.
    4. Let the person in front of the line move to the new lane first
    5. Get the necessary tools and clean it up
    6. 20% or more if the service was good
    7. Elderly, handicapped children and men should always open doors for ladies.
    8. Send it immediately

Leave a Reply

