Modern Manners Monday – What happened to RSVP’ing?

I mean SERIOUSLY… What happened to RSVP’ing?

It seems that RSVP’ing has become a thing of the past these days, but I’m not understanding why.  Are we too busy?  Are we too lazy?  Do we just not care?  In my opinion, it’s a combination of all three, and it’s sad!  I think it’s high time that WE (you and me) make a pact right here and now to bring RSVP’ing back!  What do you think?  Are you in?  I am! 

RSVP is short for the french phrase “respondez s’il vous plait” which, in short, means “please respond”.  RSVP’ing is meant to help your host(s) prepare for the number of guests that will be arriving for a party or event.  Otherwise, he or she could risk waisting time and money preparing for too many or not enough guests.  I don’t know about you, but I am definitely not up for waisting my time or money!  Furthermore, RSVP’ing isn’t a time consuming task.  It should take a maximum of two minutes to pull out the invitation, check your schedule, and call the number provided to let the host(s) know whether you will be in attendance or not.   So don’t let laziness or the fact that you are “busy” stop you from making the call.  We can all spare two minutes to make someone else’s life easier.  It will come back to reward you in the end when YOU are the one hosting an event. 

So are you with me?  Are we going to bring RSVP’ing back?

2 thoughts on “Modern Manners Monday – What happened to RSVP’ing?

  1. Been waiting for this post 🙂 I am SOOOO with you about RSVP’ing. And, thanks for actually writing out what the letters actually stand for.
    And, to add to this post, it really doesn’t take long at all…and today, you typically either RSVP via a response card, or even shoot back an email if the address is provided!

  2. Oh my gosh!! I couldn’t agree more! It’s just a common courtesy or so I thought, but some people simply don’t bother – and then so much stress follows when you’re not prepared for the correct number of guests! Great post!

Leave a Reply

