Modern Manners Monday – The 10 Rules Everyone Should Know

Let’s face it…with each passing year it gets easier and easier to let manners and etiquette fall by the wayside.  I think it’s because of how far technology has come, but what do you think?  I mean, it’s like we don’t ever have to really see anyone face to face anymore, so people think the normal etiquette rules don’t apply.  However, I disagree!  Below are 10 Etiquette Rules That Everyone Should Know and no one should break! 

  1. First things first! Just because someone else isn’t following the rules of etiquette doesn’t mean you shouldn’t either. 
  2. Take a little piece of humble pie.  No one is ever better than anyone else, so always keep that in the back of your mind.
  3. Respect tradition!  Follow the basic rules of holding the door open for someone, respecting your elders, etc. 
  4. Always use “please” and “thank you.”  Even the busboy deserves a little recognition sometimes! 
  5. Remember not to take your friends and family for granted.
  6. Know common table manners!  Chew with your mouth closed, navigate your place setting from the outside in, place your napkin in your lap, etc.
  7. Try your best to always be on time.  (Note – I even have trouble with this one!  I mean, GAH!  I’m a woman!!  Sometimes, things happen, like the outfit I picked out the night before looked better on the hanger than it did on me!) 
  8. Apply the “golden rule” in every situation!
  9. Always hand-write thank you notes!  A text message or email just isn’t the same.  Trust me. 
  10. Tap into your morals.  If something doesn’t feel right…don’t do it! 

So, what do you think?  Did I leave anything out?

6 thoughts on “Modern Manners Monday – The 10 Rules Everyone Should Know

  1. Great post!!
    I agree with the hand-written Thank You’s….email and text definitely not the same…
    I’m cracking up about your response to being on time! LOL!!

  2. I learned as a child to always be courteous. In this fast-paced world in which we live, common courtesies seem to easily fall by the wayside. Being busy is not an excuse to not be courteous. If someone calls (via telephone) and leaves a message, call that person back (via telephone) in a reasonable amount of time. We have a family member who never returns phone calls – to anyone. It’s a total lack of courtesy.

    1. Valerie, thankfully I learned as a child to always be courteous, too! For some reason it’s not as important anymore. I think etiquette should be an entire subject for elementary/high school schools!

  3. Just wanted to stop and say hi! website is great and reading your etiquette blog just reminds me what a great person you are! I am so blessed to call you my friend. You are really one of a kind. keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

