This pic makes me sad…

This picture makes me extremely sad.  There are SO many dogs, cats, and other animals that end up euthanized every year in the United States that it would BLOW your mind.  For instance, in my small parish in Louisiana, approximately 8000 animals a year are euthanized.  Those were the statistics for last year.  I have a feeling they will be going up this year given the fact that in July alone more than 1000 animals were surrendered to the shelter. 

When you decide to add a new pet to your family, please consider adopting or rescuing over buying.  And PLEASE spay and neuter. 

I would love to hear your story if you have rescued or adopted a pet.  You could be featured in the upcoming issue of Panache Magazine!

4 thoughts on “This pic makes me sad…

  1. We’ve rescued 5 of our seven pets: four cats and a dog. I am in the process of trying to convince hubby to adopt a fourth dog that was born deaf and blind. I just know that the animal would have a great home with us!

    If I won the lottery, I would buy a farm and rescue animals. And kids. I love chaos! lol (Although you wouldn’t know it from my joy at the approaching return to school!)

    xo Susie

  2. Hi Erin, this makes me really sad, too. Our newest kitty, Louie, is a rescue kitty. He was fostered by a vet in her home. I saw his photo on the Internet, and it was love at first sight. Then when I saw him in person, I knew he was meant to be part of our household. He’s just the best. We have one other kitty, Hugo, who’s a Ragdoll.

Leave a Reply

