30 Day Blog Journal – Day 4

My Favorite Book (as of right now, but it frequently changes)

 

Tranquilista: Mastering the Art of Enlightened Work and Mindful Play

Author Kimberly Wilson has truly inspired me with Tranquilista: Mastering the Art of Enlightened Work and Mindful Play, with her yoga-inspired outlook on life and work. She has definitely “mastered” the art of creating the business and home life she wants and deserves, and with this book, she is mentoring others to become better business owners while still enjoying life.

Here are a few tips that I picked up which may inspire you, as well:

Give yourself affirmations. The old saying,” If you believe, it can happen,” is being applied here. If you tell yourself that you will reach a certain goal with true conviction, for instance, it is more likely to happen than not. Try posting such an affirmation somewhere you will see it on a daily basis.

Create a timeline by which you would like to complete certain goals. It is funny how the simple act of setting deadlines can make a goal come to fruition. Minds are mysterious things! As such, Wilson has inspired me to set monthly goals for myself, whether they are work- related or personal. For instance, this month one of my goals is to start my blogs again, while another goal is to take a much- needed vacation for a little r & r.

Surround yourself with people who are aligned with your goals and morals. Remember this – If you are around garbage, you start to smell like garbage. If you choose to be around people who undermine your goals (like the desire to lose weight), you are likely to fail in the attempt. Surround yourself with positive people who are uplifting, and you will more than likely have a happier life. It is true–Trust me.

Add volunteerism to your list of goals. Choose a cause close to your heart, or if you are unsure about who you would like to help, visit as many nonprofit organizations as you can. You’ll know when you find the perfect fit.

Create an inspiration book. I have done so in the past, but Wilson sparked a new idea for me. I used to carry around a notebook to jot down ideas I had throughout the day, and I would also tear pages out of magazines I found interesting and stuff them in the same notebook. However, now I cut and paste portions of those tear-outs into a separate notebook, and Voila! An inspiration book is born.

Now Tranquilista has a permanent spot on my book shelf. I love it!

Leave a Reply

