“Topsy-Turvy Thursday” – My foster dog…

I have decided to start fostering dogs from the Ouachita Parish Animal Shelter.  It is the least I can do to try to save pets from being euthanized.  I may not can save them all, but I can save one at a time. 

This is Axle.  He is the second dog I’ve taken in as a foster dog.  Axle

His previous owner surrendered him after a neighbor called the animal control officer to report that he was being abused.  Axle’s owner didn’t want to take care of him any more so he just put him outside to let him die.  The first thing I do when I get a new pet (even a foster pet) is take him/her to the vet for a thorough exam and to get spay or neutered if they are old enough.  The vet said that Axle has heartworms, is flea infested, and is so underweight that they cannot perform the heartworm treatment yet.  It breaks my heart to know what Axle must have gone through.  Nothing deserves to be treated as though they don’t matter.  Life matters.  Anything living and breathing deserves a chance at life and deserves to be treated and cared for. 

June is “Adopt a Cat” month.  Please consider adopting and/or fostering a cat or dog this month.  You will save a life. 

If you are interested in adopting Axle, please let me know.   He is a full-blooded Weimeraner and is being treated for his heartworms and fleas and he has been neutered.  The only upfront cost to you is his adoption fee – $20. 

Erin Sharplin Love

www.panachebyerin.com

3 thoughts on ““Topsy-Turvy Thursday” – My foster dog…

    1. I know exactly what you’re talking about, Jennifer! Some people are so terrible! I enjoy fostering. It’s sad when I have to let them go to their new home, but it’s worth it in the end.

  1. I have six black kittens that will be ready to go in a couple of weeks if you know anyone that wants a free one!!

Leave a Reply

