“Terrible Tuesday” – Do you watch Real Houswives of New York City?

Do you watch the Real Houswives of New York City?  If so, then you are familiar with the Countess DeLesseps.  I don’t usually like to talk negatively about someone or something, but something has been bugging me, as an etiquette instructor, and I really wanted to vent about it today. 

Apparently the Countess has published an advice book on manners and etiquette.  In my opinion, the actions of the Countess on Real Housewives makes her look less than equipped to write a book on manners.  For instance, in one of the episodes the Countess is at a party and a nice girl brings her a beer.  The Countess says, and I quote, “The Countess does not drink beer from a bottle” and she turns around and refuses to take the beer.  On another episode the Countess is visiting a non-profit organization that focuses on helping young women and she asked each one of them what they wanted to be when they grow up.  One little girl stood up and said she wanted to be a model.  The Countess then proceeded to imply that the little girl was too fat to be a model.  In my opinion, these are not the actions of an etiquette book writer.  Class with the Countess by Countess LuAnn de Lesseps: Book Cover

I definitely feel better since I got that off of my shoulders, but I do want to point out that if any of you know of an instance that I should be called out on, please don’t hesitate to do so!  I want to always make sure I uphold the fundamentals of etiquette so if I have done less than so feel free to let me know. 

Erin Sharplin Love

www.panachebyerin.com

One thought on ““Terrible Tuesday” – Do you watch Real Houswives of New York City?

  1. That is so funny. I feel the same way. That show is my Tuesday night weakness. If I hear her tell the Suez Canal story one more time, I am giving it up!

Leave a Reply

