“Topsy-Turvy Thursday” – I Am A Vegetarian

I just felt like writing about this topic today.  I come face to face with my choice to become a vegetarian every day.  It is truly unusual to be a vegetarian in Monroe, LA.  After all, most men in this area are hunters, plus the cattle industry is huge.  There are no vegetarian restaurants in this area and when I ask restaurants not to add meat to my salad or pasta dish they look at me like I’m crazy. 

I became a vegetarian because of my love for animals.  I remember the exact moment that I wanted to stop eating red meat for sure.  I was on my husband’s grandfather’ s farm and we were riding four wheelers among the cows.  We stopped for some reason and there was a cow standing right in front of us, but I didn’t see her.  When I turned around her face was right in my face and it scared me so I screamed.  I could see the cows eyes get big and she jumped, because I obviously scared her, too.  It may seem strange and inconsequential to most of you, but it was that  very moment that I connected with that cow and I realized that she had feelings and a personality all her own.  Sure, I knew deep down that all animals had feelings and personalities, but it was that exact moment that made me really recognize it. 

I became a vegetarian slowly, and I am still in the process of becoming a “true vegetarian” because I still occasionally eat fish.  I first cut red meat out of my diet and after reading several eye-opening articles about the horrid conditions that chickens and turkeys live in and eventually die in, it was no time before I made the decision to exclude chicken and turkey from my diet as well. 

Most people have the misconception that it is hard for a vegetarian to get all of the nutrients and vitamins that are needed, but that is in no case the truth.  Unless,however, a person who does not like fruit and vegetables decides to become a vegetarian!  Anyway, I am truly happy and healthy after my decision to become a vegetarian and hope that I can encourage others who are curious about becoming vegetarians. 

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or comments.

Erin Sharplin Love

www.panachebyerin.com

Leave a Reply

