“Wedding Wednesday” – Do You Need A Wedding Coordinator?

A wedding coordinator can save his/her bride much time, money, and stress!  In today’s society women work just as hard, if not harder, than their male counterparts, thus making planning a wedding extremely difficult.  This is where a wedding coordinator steps in.  The bride and groom can go on about their everyday life and be rest assured that their wedding will turn out as they have always dreamed. 

 

I am asked all sorts of questions as a Wedding Coordinator, so I have decided to answer the most common questions in this month’s newsletter.  If I neglect to answer any other questions that you may have, please don’t hesitate to call or e-mail me. 

 

What exactly is a wedding coordinator?

A wedding coordinator is a professional whose training, expertise, and contacts will help make your wedding as close to perfect as it possibly can be – and let you relax and enjoy your wedding.

 

You can count on your wedding coordinator to help you in many roles. 

 

As an Advisor – As an expert,the coordinator knows weddings, from the socially correct invitation formats through the proper planning  and organization of the reception.

 

As a Coordinator – Through extensive contacts in the wedding business, the coordinator can match you with the right professionals, from photography to caterer.

 

As a Supervisor – Why should you have to worry about the details that go into planning a wedding?  Your consultant will work with the other professionals you have chosen to make sure everything happens just as you want it.

 

As a Financial Planner – If you’re working with a budget (and who isn’t), your coordinator can help you organize your dream wedding within your budget, by suggesting ways in which your dollar will go further.

 

As a Mediator – Caught between “ex” families and “step” families?  A wedding professional, as an independent third party, often can smooth ruffled feathers and mediate disagreements.  Sometimes your coordinator may be nothing more than a “shoulder to cry on” to support you during the hectic days before your wedding.

 

Do I need a contract with my wedding coordinator?

You should definitely have some sort of agreement in writing – signed by the both of you.  The contract should include all services, fees, and payment schedules.

 

How can I tell if a coordinator is reputable?

You should always check the credentials of your coordinator.  For instance, I am certified by the Association of Bridal Consultants.  I am required to uphold their code of ethics and standards of membership to retain my certification.  I carry my certificate with me at all times, as should other coordinators.  If they don’t have it on them, you can still check their credentials with the Association of Bridal Consultants. 

 

Do coordinators get “kickbacks” from vendors?

I definitely do not take “kickbacks” from my vendors.  If I am offered kickbacks from vendors I encourage them to pass those savings on to my clients.  No other coordinator should accept kickbacks.  It is unethical and is stated in the Association of Bridal Consultants code of ethics.

 

Will a coordinator try to run the whole show?

A professional wedding coordinator will work with you in the planning of your wedding.  He/She will never do anything without consulting with you first. 

 

What do wedding coordinators charge?

Every coordinator is different.  Some consultants charge a percentage of what the entire wedding will cost and others, like me, charge an hourly rate.  I like to keep up with exactly what I do, when I do it, so it seems more logical to charge by the hour.  I charge $40/hour, but some coordinators charge as much as $150/hour.

 

How can I tell if my wedding coordinator is providing quality vendors?

If your coordinator wants to continue to provide his/her services in the area, providing quality vendors will be of the utmost in importance.  With this in mind you can rest assured that your wedding coordinator will provide a quality vendor for you. 

 

 

Do I really need a wedding coordinator?

A wedding coordinator is an asset to your wedding.  Wouldn’t it be nice to enjoy your engagement period rather than stressing about planning the wedding?  Your coordinator will take care of all the details that go in to planning a wedding so you can shine on the special day.

 

If you need more informations please don’t hesitate to let me know!

Erin Sharplin Love

www.panachebyerin.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

